Shakespeare Can Wait

Out of stock


In this thoughtful and vivid novel of a teacher reminiscing on his teaching days at a neighbourhood school in the 1970s, the unnamed protagonist ponders on the essence of education in our schools: how does it prepare students for life? What is the role of a teacher after school hours? And what happens after one drops out/finishes schooling?

From the endearing student characters of Kim Huat, Ah Beng and Mui Hoong to the colourful personalities in the staffroom, Shakespeare Can Wait plunges you into the daily, but certainly not mundane, life of a school in a working-class hamlet. At the heart of the novel, it is about a teacher who never stopped being one.




Shakespeare Can Wait

Slide to see



$18.00 SGD

Out of stock

Receive an email when it’s back in stock.

Alert Me


David Leo