The Sins Of The Fathers and Other Stories

The Sins Of The Fathers and Other Stories

Regular price
$10.00 SGD
Sale price
$10.00 SGD

Thanks for your interest in this title. Unfortunately, we have retired this book to the vault. Why not check out some of our newer releases instead? If you're looking for a similar book, drop us an email and we're happy to recommend.

Alternatively, archival copies of The Sins Of The Fathers and Other Stories are available at the National Library Board.


by David Leo


Winner of the Commendation Prize in the National Book Department Council Book Awards for works in English in 1994, this collection deals with life's many ironies, conflicts between past and present, the thin line between reality and make-believe, and the hard facts of ageing, living and dying. Simple, but adroitly handled and provocative. In 1996, Orchard Road was translated into Mandarin and in 1998, The Sins of the Fathers was adapted for theatre. Both were staged respectively at The Substation's Guinness Theatre, Singapore.

About the Author

David Leo is a compulsive writer in love with the written word. He has produced a wide repertoire of works that include poetry and prose. He was awarded the Publisher’s Prize for fiction (Ah... The Fragrance of Durians), NBDCS commendation (The Sins of the Fathers & Other Stories) and Singapore Literature Prize commendation (Wives, Lovers & Other Women). A fourth collection of short stories (News At Nine) is a recommended secondary school text.

Some of his short stories have been adapted for the stage and television. In 2003, two of his short stories, “Picnic” and “The Story of a Good Man” were adapted for MediaCorp TV12’s The Singapore Short Story Project.
Leo was also a judge in the nation’s prestigious NAC/SPH Golden Point Award competition for short stories in English in 2001. 
Between books, Leo writes commentaries on a wide range of subjects but specialises in aviation and customer service as a freelance columnist. He also enjoys travelling, swimming and word puzzles. A nature lover, he abhors cruelty to animals.

Other titles by David Leo:

Different Strokes (1993)
Shakespeare Can Wait (2009)

Short Stories
The Sins of the Fathers & Other Stories (1993)
News At Nine (2003)
Ah... The Fragrance of Durians (2012)
Wives, Lovers & Other Women (2012)

Life's So Like Dat (2008)

One Journey, Many Rivers (1997)
Somewhere a Tiny Voice (1993)
iDENTiTY (2008)
Ubin Dreaming (You've Been Dreaming) (2012)

• • •

ISBN: 981-00-4663-4
Published: 1993
Dimension: 135mm x 190mm
Extent: 147
Finish: Paperback



Sold Out